top of page

BODY CONFIDENCE

You may or may not know that I am an above the knee amputee and as a 20 year old I find that I struggle a lot with body confidence. After my accident in 2015 I was 17, going out in public for the first time it was very daunting. I thought I cannot let this accident stop me from doing things and with my worries I did go out in public. People would look and point and it was very hard for me and my parents.

In January 2016, me and my family went to Cape Verde. My biggest fear was going out in public with my prosthetic leg and wearing a bikini and I never thought I would be able to do it but I DID! There was another amputee and seeing him not caring about the people around him encouraged me. I did take a bikini picture but never posted it anywhere, so here it is.

In August 2017, I posted a bikini picture and wrote a fairly long caption about body confidence, this was then put in the national news. That post came from my heart and everything I said I meant. I wanted to help others who struggled with body confidence as others have helped me. You need to do things for yourself, not for others and if nore what other people think and live your life how you want to live it. Everyone has their own issues, you just may not know about it, not everyone is perfect.


After posting this I received over 2,000 likes and way over 100 comments on Instagram (@leahwashy) all from people either saying I have helped them in some way or positive feedback from people which I always read & take on board, I also received so many lovely DM's! Its so rewarding being able to reach out to people who I don't even know and be able to encourage, help & inspire!

Since posting this on Instagram while in Puerto Banus and it featuring in the news, once I returned home it then lead on to a great opportunity & a 'fabulous' experience...

I DID A BODY CONFIDENCE ARTICLE & PHOTOSHOOT WITH FABULOUS MAGAZINE & THE SUN! This was a incredible experience, I attended the photoshoot & interview in London along with four other inspirational women all with body confidence issues, every woman had a different story which were all equally endearing to listen to and share experiences with one another! The photos and interview turned out great and I will attach the link to the article below!

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/4434815/alton-towers-crash-survivor-leah-washington-says-she-thought-she-would-never-wear-a-bikini-again/

Hope you enjoyed this rather long blog post, apologies! Please subscribe & send me a tweet or comment if you wish!

Leah x

bottom of page