top of page

FITNESS

After my recent operation I’ve started going back to the gym, Fitness as an amputee is very important to me and having a good fitness level helps with using my prosthetic leg. As I am an above the knee amputee some types of fitness can be very difficult but I have to persevere. I love trying new things in the gym and I feel really good when I achieve them.

I love boxing!!! It’s one of my favourites types of fitness and wether you’re an amputee or not and haven’t tried it yet you need to try it NOW. Boxing works your whole body and it is fun. I enjoy doing squats they are great for your glutes (bum) and your legs. Although it can be very tricky as an amputee, if you push yourself you will just get better and better. Spinning bikes are also a good form of exercise. If you do interval training it is even better as you really have to push yourself and that’s how you get better and how it gets easier. Cycling is great for your glutes and legs and is great for my little leg as I call it, It’s great for your core too as you really have to use your core to keep you balanced on the bike.

If your not into fitness or haven’t done much before, I would recommend having a personal trainer until you find your feet. I use a personal trainer on a weekly basis for motivation, help and confidence. I also have to find alternatives to do some exercises in certain ways, so my personal trainer Sukhi helps me do this and we figure out the best way for me and my body.

Fitness is not only good for the body but it is also great for the mind. Looking after your body is very important and I would recommend it to anyone. You don’t have to ‘over do it’ just do as much as you want. Follow my Instagram @leahwashy for fitness posts and updates.

Leah x

bottom of page