top of page

GLUTEN FREE gingerbread trees

In March 2017 I was diagnosed with coeliacs disease. I had to make lots of changes to my diet to ensure I was gluten free. It’s been really hard and I am still trying to get used to it today. As it is my first Christmas being coeliac I wanted to try some recipes. I decided to try gingerbread first as it’s not too hard.

Ingredients:

225g gluten free flour

1 1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

100g light brown sugar

2 tbsp golden syrup

Preheat the oven to 200°c.

Step one

First mix the gluten free flour with the ground ginger and the bicarbonate of soda.

Step two

Now melt the golden syrup, once melted add the brown sugar and the melted golden syrup to the flour mix.

Step three

Now it is a dough mixture, roll it out to the thickness of a pound coin. (Rolling it out in between cling film makes it a lot easier) Use cutters of your choice, I used a tree cutter.

Step four

Place your cut gingerbread dough onto parchment paper on a baking tray and put them in the oven for around 8-10 minutes or until golden.

Step five

Once cooked, take them out of the oven and allow to cool. Once cooled decorate with icing and ENJOY!!!

bottom of page